Irány Pogányvölgy!

Öreglak

Öreglak is situated on the Northern part of the county, on the Southern border of Nagyberek, along the Kaposvár-Fonyód railway. When it was completed in 1890, the road crossing the village was a very important military road towards Serbia. In the old times, the village was separated by an impassable marshland from the one-time centre of the county, Somogyvár; the hill of Kupavár, which was the estate of Koppány, rises here above the wetland. The whole Balaton, and even parts of Zala and Veszprém can be seen from the eminence. Vinery is characteristic of the Southern and Western sides, which is indicated by the row of wine cellars, and the orchards bring a rich harvest every year. A characteristic produce is walnut; household farms often have as much as fifty walnut trees. Back in the beginning of the 20th century Öreglak belonged to the district-notary office in Buzsák, however, it became independent as of 1946.

 
 
 

St. Anna church and chapel

The former parish church of the village was consecrated in the honor of Saint Bertalan in 1456. The present church was built in the first half of the 20th century in classicistic style. The furniture and the side altars were made in the 18th century, in baroque style. The church was rebuilt by the village population after World War II. The chapel was built in 1815 in late baroque style. The church was completely renovated in 2011 using LEADER-subsidy.

 

Jankovics-mansion

The castle was built in a picturesque environment, surrounded by ancient trees, on the higher parts of the ancient park, in the middle of the last century. The beautiful English park, once comprising an area of 32 acre, had several owners after the world war, which led to the gradual deterioration of its conditions. From among the plants preserved, primarily the evergreens are worthy of attention.