Once upon a time, Somogyvár was seat of the county, a significant centre and the home of the authentic archives. At the time of the settlement of Hungarians it was the ancient quarters of captain Koppány – sent to the Somogy duchy by lord Géza – and his stem. Koppány, who rebelled against István, was cut into four, and so his stem also lost the castle of Somogyvár and the relating lands. Stephen I invited Pecheneg and other soldiers to settle here and protect the area, and also German knights, faithful to him, received estates here. Saint Stephen occupied his estate on the hill rising above the marshlands of Nagyberek, and built a christening church here in the honor of Saint Apollinaris in 1001. Somogyvár became a significant cultic and cultural centre in the Middle Ages, and as from the 1220’s it was the primary depositor of the county’s documents. The inhabitants of the area were migrants, who created a thriving economy with their vineyards.
Kupavár - historical site
Thanks to king Saint Leslie, the Benedictine abbey – astonishing even in its ruins - established by him (1091) was the unique alloy of the French and Hungarian culture in its golden ages. No accident that the ruins excavated became the third most important historic monument in our country – after Pusztaszer and Mohács – and a national monument in 2012. The ’Kupavár Days’ have been organized in every year since 1989 in the memory of the nameday (27 June) of founder Saint Leslie.
The Széchenyi family castle
The castle is surrounded with a park of 24 hectare area. (Visitors can find here primeval redwood, fern pine, European larch, forest and black pine, white lime, plane, grey poplar, Japanese acacia and 200 other rare plants). Everything here praises the good work of the Széchenyi family and the abilities of their servants. In the park, we can find the classicistic grave chapel of the Széchenyi family, which was built in the second half of the 19th century.
Roman Catholic church
The Catholic Church was built in 1842. It took that much time for Somogyvár to resurrect from the destruction of the monastery founded in 1091. Its organ is unique in the country (a Königorgan with two manuals and 16 stops). The folk carvings of the calvary show a Tyrolese influence; the monument for the memory of Jesus’ sufferings was erected by the richer local families in the early 20th century. Both the building of the church and that of the local government have been renovated recently with the help of a LEADER subsidy. Today Somogyvár settlement is creating a community house of the Integrated Community and Service Space from the building of the former sport club.